oscartheduckin’ around

March 30, 2007

SiReSSH

Filed under: python, SiReSSH — oscartheduck @ 1:47 am

I just started working on a project in python called SiReSSH. Possibly the dumbest name ever.

SiReSSH aims to be a simple, auto-configuring reverse SSH setup tool, compatible with linux, *BSD and Windows. It is being implemented in python, and released under the BSD license.

What’s the point, then?

Well, it’s twofold. First, there’s nothing wrong and a lot nice with having a graphical tool do something for you that’s available at the command line. Second, the idea for the project seemed like something that I’d be able to code, and I’m not a stellar coder, so this was a neat thing for me.

What else is the point?

The software actually functions to do something that I find pretty neat. To illustrate, let me tell you what the situation was that made me have a need to discover the functionality, and you’ll see what the functionality actually is.

I have a machine on another man’s network. The network’s pretty fucking open, I can do a lot on it, but it’s not my network. As such, when I set up a wiki server and wanted to administrate it from home, I couldn’t just log into a router and tell it to forward ports such and such so I could do remote logins. Instead, I had to work out a way *around* the fact that the machine was not on a public network and was privately addressed and was behind NAT and so on and so forth.

At first, I thought  that nat-traverse would be the bee’s knees. But then a friend turned me on to reverse ssh tunneling. I decided that this would be the best solution for my needs.

Essentially, what reverse ssh tunneling allows me to do is to log in to my computer at work by performing an ssh to localhost on my machine at home. Which is nifty as all fuck.

Eventually, I have vague dreams of allowing graphical applications to be tunneled over ssh (relatively simple) and having full graphical administrative access to the desktop (nigh on impossible, I think, without tying in to rdesktop or something similar), but I think it’s best to start small and offer a couple of things well rather than try to do everything at once.

That’s why the roadmap is relatively detailed an unambitious. Each step is evolutionary, rather than revolutionary. But this means that by the end of version 1.0 I’ll have a tool that accomplishes the functionality I want it to have, rather than trying to cram all that into version 0.1 and giving myself an aneurism.

The project is currently hosted on a google page, but I’m going to see if I can get some of that sweet google code hosting shit. http://siressh.googlepages.com

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

