oscartheduckin’ around

September 19, 2007

cracked it

Filed under: Uncategorized — oscartheduck @ 1:55 am

I worked out how to minimise a graph. A graph of x^2 with a spread of half a million variables is minimisable to a good degree of accuracy in about two seconds.

A good degree of accuracy is not accurate enough, of course. Getting down to 10 or so is pretty good, it removes 499990 potential stopping points. But it ain’t a minimum.

I’ve got a few ways I can improve it. They’re tricky to implement, but there we are, that’s just the price you pay for tackling problems.

Once that’s complete, I’ll combine the code with my other code. My other code implements finding points on a graph in n dimensions running on any number of processors. It’s massively parallel.

Then I’ll ask my employer for a letter saying that I can release it under the BSD license. Hell yeah.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

