oscartheduckin’ around

November 25, 2007

PordWress

Filed under: freebsd, wordpress — oscartheduck @ 4:53 pm

I’ve been wondering about the upgrade path for a wordpress installation I have on a webserver.

If I’d just left wordpress in the default location, ports would automatically upgrade it for me. I’d occasionally have issues from that, but that’s not what I did, so I don’t have issues from it. Instead, I have wordpress permanently stuck around version 2.1. Which is non-optimal.

So I’ve been thinking about how to resolve this. I imagine it’s as simple as finding the default location and cping a binary, but I’m uncertain. And if I break that website, there will be hell to pay, where hell is a hot place that’s very uncomfortable.

Aq recently wrote a post about this very conundrum: http://www.kryogenix.org/days/2007/11/23/wordpress-through-subversion  – so good for him. I’m going to try out a dual pronged approach. First, I’ll clone the mysql database/wordpress install from the website and throw it over to the vm, then see if I can update it safely by copying a port-installed binary. If so, score. If not, I’ll try the subversion approach.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

